This weekend I competed in my first strongman competition and let me tell you it was awesome! The event was well run and the competitors were all great people. The competition was run a little differently than I imagined, but then again I didn’t have any previous experience to base my preconceptions off of.

The first event was a 235 pound log for max reps, and I got 20 reps! Just kidding, I didn’t get any… No seriously I didn’t get any. That son of bitch was heavy, but in my defense I did clean it I just couldn’t press it.

The second event was a max tire deadlift and I got 3 attempts. I opened at 405 because the warmup was pretty short, then I jumped to 465. On a side note we were only getting 3-5 minutes between attempts because there were so few competitors. For my third attempt I went a little too conservatively and pulled 505 when I should have gone 20 pounds heavier. Excuses are excuses though and I bitched out over the short rest period.

The third event was the keg toss, and I got 3 of the five kegs over the 14′ pole. Not too bad but not great.

The fourth event was the truck pull which I actually won! I pulled the whole 80 feet in 41 seconds, which put me in first by .25 seconds. Go me, I finally finished an event!

The last event was a sand bag carry and load over a 52″ bar. I got the 200 and 225 pound bags in 15 seconds, but my hamstrings locked up on the 250 bag when I tried to load it. Needless to say I pulled my hamstring and I am taking a couple days off… That’s okay though, at least I know what I need to work on now. 

All in all it was a pretty good competition, and I did decently for my first time. I did all of my programming myself and I learned a lot of valuable lessons along the way. If any of you are interested in strongman you should sign up and give it a shot! The community is great and everyone cheers everyone on. Now I’m going to go lie down and not get up for the next 48 hours.

Until next time,

Train your hammies 

